Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees the management of the network and ensures it is meeting its objectives in line with its terms of reference. 

Steering Committee

  • Chair: Dr Jemish Acharya Shrestha (The Leprosy Mission Nepal)
  • Vice-Chair: Gilbert Baayenda (The Fred Hollows Foundation)
  • Immediate Past Chair: Girija Sankar (Christian Blind Mission)

Disease-Specific Groups
Trachoma / International Coalition for Trachoma Control (ICTC)

  • Chair: PJ Hooper (The Task Force for Global Health)
  • Vice-Chair: Michaela Kelly (Sightsavers)
  • Alternate: Aparna Barua Adams (International Coalitionfor TrachomaControl)

Lymphatic Filariasis (LF) NGO Network

  • Chair: Benoit Dembele (Hellen Keller International)
  • Vice- Chair: Deborah Mensah (American Leprosy Missions)
  • Immediate Past-Chair: Asrat Mengitse (CDT-Africa at the College of Health Sciences, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia)

NGDO Coordination Group for Onchocerciasis Elimination

  • Chair: Francesca Olamiju (MITOSATH)
  • Vice-Chair: Lindsay Rakers (The Carter Center)

Leprosy NGO Group 

  • Chair: Geoff Warne (International Federation of Anti-Leprosy Associations - ILEP)

Soil-Transmitted Helminths/Schistosomiasis (STH/SCH) NGO Group

  • Chair: Cosmas Ndellejong (Sightsavers)
  • Vice-Chair: Veronica Kabona (RTI International)

Cross-Cutting Groups

Communications Working Group

  • Chair: Subin Adhikari (The Leprosy Mission Nepal)

Disease Management Disability and Inclusion (DMDI) 

  • Chair: Danny Haddad (CBM Global)
  • Vice-Chair: MayaSemrau(BrightonandSussex Medical School)

Water Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) 

  • Co-Chair: Sarity Dobson (The Fred Hollows Foundation)
  • Co-Chair:  Dorin Turgeman (NALA Foundation)
  • Vice- Chair: Geordie Woods (Sightsavers) 

Skin Related NTDs 

  • Chair: Dr. Rie Yotsu (Tulane School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine)
  • Vice- Chair: Dr. Niraj Parajuli (MoHP Nepal)

Conflict and Humanitarian Emergencies

  • Chair: Angelia Sanders (The Carter Center)
  • Co-Chair: Katie Eves (The Mentor Initiative)

Ensuring Sustainable Systems

  • Chair: Kate McCracken (Evidence Action)

One Health

  • Chair: Dr. Gabrielle Laing (Unlimit Health)

Administration Support

  • Administrative assistant: Subin Adhikari (The Leprosy Mission Nepal), Roza Terefe (The Fred Hollows Foundation)

NNN Representation

  • Uniting to Combat NTDs Consultative Forum
    • Madelle Hatch (The Carter Center) 
  • ESPEN Steering Committee
    • Juliana Amanyi-Enegela (Christian Blind Mission)


The Chair shall serve a one-year term and will then move to the position of Past-Chair for an additional year.  Similarly, the Vice-Chair shall serve a one-year term and then move to the position of Chair. During an election year and prior to the annual meeting, the Executive Committee will invite nominations for the incoming NNN Vice-Chair through the NGO Coordination Groups. Each nominee must accept the nomination and be fully informed of the voluntary nature of the position. Nominations will be supported by a brief summary of the nominee’s eligibility for election. 

The Executive Committee will circulate the final nominations prior to the annual meeting during which election of the new Vice-Chair will take place. The successful candidate will be determined by a clear majority of votes (one vote per individual NGO) and the new Vice-Chair will take up the position from the announcement at the meeting.


The NNN meets annually (typically in September); the disease-specific and thematic working groups will continue to meet separately at will. See our conference page for more information.